Concerto Ano Novo

1 January 2022


The tradition of the New Year’s Concert began in Vienna, Austria, in 1939. The program for this concert featured only works by the composer Johann Strauss Jr. (Junior), son of the also famous composer Johann Strauss Sr.
On January 1st 2022, in Viana do Castelo, at Teatro Municipal Sá de Miranda, the Con Spirito Orchestra will continue this European tradition respecting the programmatic contents that usually make up a New Year’s Concert.
The concert will open with a tribute to the Czech composer, Julius Fucik, author of the famous “Entrance of the Gladiators” – this way we will celebrate the 150th anniversary of his birth. The audience will then enjoy two polkas, a fast one: “Sport-polka” by composer Josef Strauss (brother of Johann Strauss Jr.) and a slow one: “Pizzicato-polka”. We will also take a trip to the East with the eloquent “Persian March”. Obviously we could not miss two of the most beautiful and famous Viennese waltzes, the “Emperor’s Waltz” and “The Beautiful Blue Danube”. We completed the program with two very lively and joyful works, the “Infernal Gallop”, known as Can-can by French composer Jacques Offenbach, and “Sleigh Ride” by American composer Leroy Anderson. To finish, and as tradition demands, after the waltz “The Beautiful Blue Danube”, we will ask the audience to interact with the orchestra in the performance of the “Radetsky March” by Johann Strauss Sr.


Julius Fucik (1872-1916) Florentiner March (Marcha Florentina)

Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899) Pizzicato-Polka

Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880) Orfeu nos Infernos – Galope Infernal (Can-can)

Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899) Persischer Marsch, Op. 289 (Marcha Persa)

Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899) Keiser-Waltzer (Valsa do Imperador)

Leroy Anderson (1908-1975) Sleigh Ride (Passeio de trenó)

Josef Strauss (1827-1870) Sport-polka , Op. 170

Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899) An der schönen, blauen Donau (O belo Danúbio azul)

Johann Strauss Sr. (1809-1849) Radetsky March, Op. 228

Ticket prices

Free Admission


Teatro Municipal Sá de Miranda – Main Room


1 January 2022


5:00 pm

Running time

90 minutes (approx.)

Age Rating



Orquestra Con Spirito


Violin 1
Gabriela Peixoto (Concertino)
Ana Socorro
Bernardo Barreira
Diana Esteves
Fernando Sá
Vitor Damião
Ricardo Parente

Violin 2
Joana Viana
Rui Barrocas
Catarina Calçada
Rui Rasteiro
Helena Silva
Sara Estelinha Alves

Marcia Marques
Rita Carreiras
Carlos Monteiro
Barbara Ferreira
José Silva

Nuno Cruz
Bruno Fernandes
Nuno Ferreira
Paulo Marques

Jaime Alvarez
Pedro Vasquinho

Henrique Fernandes
Marta Miranda

Rafaela Carvalho
Beatriz Barros

Mário Apolinário
David Santos

Luísa Martins
Daniel Carneiro

Luís Domingues
Bruno Barbosa
Joel Santos
Vitória Torres

Guilherme Ferreira
Luís Maciel

José Luís Rosas
Raul Balinha
Eduardo Lima

Bruno Guia
Pedro Pinto
Hugo Pereira

Paulo Areias